40 years of HCI International. Join us in Washington DC to celebrate


Software representations of humans, including aspects of anthropometry, biometrics, motion capture and prediction, as well as cognition modelling, are known as digital human models (DHM), and are widely used in a variety of complex application domains where it is important to foresee and simulate human behavior, performance, safety, health and comfort.

Automation depicting human emotion, social interaction and functional capabilities can also be modeled to support and assist in predicting human response in real world settings. Such domains include medical and nursing applications, education and learning, ergonomics and design, as well as safety and risk management.

The DHM Conference, an affiliated conference of the HCI International Conference, arrived at its 15th edition and solicits papers from academics, researchers, industry and professionals, on a broad range of theoretical and applied issues related to Digital Human Modelling and its applications.

Call for participation leaflet (115KB)

Submit your Paper Proposal

(Please create an account to the Conference Management System before you proceed with the submission)

The related topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Artificial Intelligence & Smart Services
  • Autonomous Driving, Avatars & Pedestrians
  • Biometrics, Human Identification and Cyber-Security
  • Bibliometric Analysis & Text-based Content Analysis
  • Clothing and Comfort
  • Collaboration and Manufacturing
  • Elderly and Innovation
  • Emotional Response
  • Ergonomics and Fatigue
  • Exoskeleton and Safety
  • Eye tracking & Observing Service Quality
  • Face Reader Synchronization with Response
  • Fashion Design & Communication Sciences
  • Gamification and Game-Based Learning
  • Gestures & Human-Robot Interaction
  • Integrating Social & Ethical Requirements
  • Job Design and Changing Nature of Work
  • Multimodal physiological measures
  • Patients and Healthcare
  • Personal Protective Equipment
  • Posture, Manikin and Simulation
  • Social Robotics
  • Space Human Factors
  • Systems, People and Performance
  • Tasks and Usability
  • Text Mining & Content Analysis
  • Users and Workplace
  • Wellness, Health and Well-being
  • Program Chair


    Purdue University, USA

  • Board Members

  • Karthik Adapa
    UNC-Chapel, United States
  • Giuseppe Andreoni
    Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Pedro Arezes
    University of Minho, Portugal
  • Hasan Ayaz
    Drexel University, United States
  • Aydin Azizi
    Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom
  • Angelos Barmpoutis
    University of Florida, United States
  • Simone Borsci
    University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Andre Calero Valdez
    University of Lübeck, Germany
  • Yaqin Cao
    Anhui Polytechnic University, P.R. China
  • Ignacio Castellucci
    Universidad de Valparaíso, Chile
  • Damien Chablat
    CNRS / LS2N, France
  • Karen Chen
    North Carolina State University, United States
  • Bong Jun Choi
    Soongsil University, Korea
  • Denis Coelho
    Jönköping University, Sweden
  • Clive D'Souza
    University of Pittsburgh, United States
  • H. Onan Demirel
    Oregon State University, United States
  • Yi Ding
    Anhui Polytechnic University, P.R. China
  • Manish K. Dixit
    Texas A&M University, United States
  • Ehsan Esfahani
    University at Buffalo, United States
  • Martin Fleischer
    Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Martin Fränzle
    Oldenburg University, Germany
  • Afzal Godil
    National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States
  • Wenbin Guo
    University of Florida, United States
  • Sogand Hasanzadeh
    Purdue University, United States
  • Bochen Jia
    University of Michigan, United States
  • Genett Isabel Jimenez Delgado
    Institucion Universitaria de Barranquilla IUB, Colombia
  • Jari Kaivo-oja
    Turku School of Economics, University of Turku, Finland
  • Taina Kalliokoski
    University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Jeong Ho Kim
    Oregon State University, United States
  • Woojoo Kim
    Kangwon National University, Korea
  • Steffi Kohl
    Zuyd University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands
  • Richard Lamb
    East Carolina University, United States
  • Nicola Francesco Lopomo
    Università degli Studi di Brescia, Italy
  • Siu Shing Man
    South China University of Technology, P.R. China
  • Alexander Mehler
    Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
  • Jörg Miehling
    Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), Germany
  • Salman Nazir
    University of south eastern Norway, Norway
  • Peter Nickel
    Institute for Occupational Safety and Health of the German Social Accident Insurance (IFA), Germany
  • Ashish Nimbarte
    West Virginia University, United States
  • Joseph Nuamah
    Oklahoma State University, United States
  • Miguel Ortiz-Barrios
    Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain and Universidad de la Costa (CUC), Colombia
  • Nicola Paltrinieri
    NTNU, Norway
  • Thaneswer Patel
    North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology, India
  • Qing-Xing Qu
    Northeastern University, P.R. China
  • Xingda Qu
    Shenzhen University, P.R. China
  • Erwin Rauch
    Free University of Bolzano, Spain
  • Arto Reiman
    University of Oulu, Finland
  • Deep Seth
    Mahindra University, India
  • Fabio Sgarbossa
    NTNU, Norway
  • Jieun Shin
    University of Florida, United States
  • Thitirat Siriborvornratanakul
    National Institute of Development Administration, Thailand
  • Beatriz Sousa Santos
    University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Hendrik Stern
    Universität Bremen, Germany
  • Lesley Strawderman
    Mississippi State University, United States
  • Youchao Sun
    Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, P.R. China
  • Zhengtang Tan
    Hunan Normal University, P.R. China
  • Leonor Teixeira
    University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Renran Tian
    IUPUI, United States
  • Joseph Timoney
    Maynooth University, Ireland
  • Vinay V Panicker
    National Institute of Technology Calicut, India
  • Dustin Van der Haar
    University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Kuan Yew Wong
    Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Malaysia
  • Shuping Xiong
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
  • James Yang
    Texas Tech University, United States

Disclaimer - Political Neutrality

The HCI International Conference respects the decisions of all its contributors, engaged in any way, regarding their institutional affiliations and designations of territories, in all material / content published in its website, taking a neutral stance in relation to any disputes or claims. Moreover, the HCI International Conference fully concurs with the Territorial Neutrality Policy of Springer Nature, Publisher of its proceedings.